Put Your Fashion Face On

What better to do on a grim day than test drive the latest catwalk beauty looks. I checked out Glamour magazine’s favourite make up looks this summer and tried them for myself. WARNING: extreme close ups images of my face…

Lip Stain

There’s nothing sexier than a slick of colour on your lips and this summer’s stained lip trend is no exception. I tend to only wear deep colours like red or purple but bright colours work too. The important thing is that the lip stays matte with no gloss. I applied Topshop ‘Inhibition’ with a lipstick brush keeping it darker in the centre of the lip. (Giles S/S 1012 below)

 

 

Retro Glamour 

A slick of black eyeliner and a bold red lip is simple, beautiful and always effective. This classic make up is being modernised on the catwalk by the likes of Jason Wu and Dior. For this look I got to use my favourite red lipstick, Lady Danger by MAC. I think it is more red than orange but it does have burnt undertones to it which go well with my skin tone. I also applied ‘Half Baked’ from the NAKED palette by Urban Decay liberally to my upper lids for that extra opulent look! This look is always a winner with me for  nights out or special occasions and the 40’s has to be my favourite era.

 

 

The Big Smoke

There is nothing I love more than a dark smokey eye, it is the look I  probably use most regularly. I wouldn’t go as extreme as I have for everyday wear though. I used my Urban Decay NAKED Palette, a black pencil eyeliner AND a black liquid liner on top to create the look. The extreme catwalk look like Gucci’s S/S 2012, below, is definitely one I will be saving for Halloween!

 

 

Statement Liner

Playing around with black eyeliner is so much fun and for this one I have really gone to town. All I have used is Rimmel’s black liquid eyeliner. Symmetry is often the issue with applying a slick of eye liner on the top lid but practise makes perfect. The 60’s make up look was great and this just takes it to the next extreme. I love wearing eye liner like this but far more toned down! (Jonathan Saunders S/S 2012 below)

 

Fresh Faced

This is the look I was dreading, despite not minding going out without a full face of make up, I don’t particularly like the idea of photographing it! I am quite lucky with my skin as I rarely get spots but I don’t tend to wear sunscreen on my face whilst in the sun as I like to get tanned, therefore my skin can be quite dry. This summer is all about the glowing complexion and wearing the right foundation for your skin tone. I lightly applied Illamasqua Cream Foundation in cf 215 with a foundation brush.

 

 

Colour Pop

I can honestly say that I might have a phobia of bright colours. In clothes, less so, but unless it’s lipstick I don’t put colour on my face. Therefore I struggled to find any make up that was really bright. In the end I chose to go for a dust of electric blue on my upper lid, blended with my liquid liner and on the bottom, a splash of yellow. I also went for a pinker blusher. I have to say this is not a look I would ever choose to wear but on the catwalk it looks amazing. (Louise Gray S/S 2012 below)

 

 

Bold Brows 

I have a slight obsession with eyebrows and think it’s vital that girls pay attention to them if nowhere else! They frame the face and can improve symmetry. However, Altuzzara’s S/S 2012 dark and heavy eyebrow look is a little extreme for me, almost like high fashion’s answer to the Scouse Brow! Seeing as a thicker, darker brow seems to be the look of the summer I have used a darker colour than I usually would to accentuate my brow line. I used the dark brown shade from my No 7 ‘Opulence Eye Palette’ and a fine make up brush to both thicken and shape the brow. I couldn’t see myself letting my eyebrows grow out or darkening them to the extreme but I will definitely keep on top of brow grooming more than ever!

 

 

 

Bek xo

 

 

 

Leave a comment